Monday’s and Material Matters

It’s Monday, and I am not having any of it.

Case of the Monday’s

 

That meme is literally how I feel about today. Here I am sitting on my couch, in my living room, drinking a beer, and enjoying an episode of Sex and the City. I’m not thinking about that assignment that I need to turn in by 5 pm today, or the giant display board that I need to make for Wednesday. I am still in break mode. While we’re on the subject of breaks, Thanksgiving just happened.

Thanksgiving – the holiday with the best food. The one where people give thanks for everything they have, then go out and shop for everything they want (which is actually kind of weird). After looking up the origin of Black Friday, I have learned that it has been going on since the 19th century (financial crisis of 1869 is the association). My question is, why is it such a big deal? Why does our culture place such a large importance on material possessions? Although, I am not immune to this it is something that floats across my mind.

So I ask you to consider the good things in your life: your health, shelter, food, water, clothing. Everything else (material items: phones, computers, etc.) are just extras and we don’t need them to survive.

Leave a Reply

