My Best Song Ever Review

“And we danced all night to the best song ever”

If you’ve ever listened to this song, you will know that these are the words that grace the chorus of One Direction’s summer 2013 single Best Song Ever. As an avid directioner, I was super excited to listen to this song, and then see the video that would accompany it in the following weeks of the single. Now let’s break the song down a little bit:

First off, I love the music behind it. Maybe it has something to do with growing up listening to The Who with my dad. But the beginnings of the song and the verses, at least for me, resemble Baba  O’Reily by The Who – like a variation on it. (If you have no clue what I’m talking about, you should check it out!). I love how the verses have a rock feel to them. It was something unexpected coming off their second album, which still had a pop feel to it.

Now we get to my favorite part about this song. It’s poking fun at all stereotypical, cookie cutter, pop, boy band. In a way, that includes them; when you finally hear a new song and go to describe it to your friends the only words you can think of are “it’s the best song ever”. Again, I think they were poking fun, which just makes it better.

Can we take a moment to appreciate the musical artistry during the harmonies? It’s hard to hear on the recording of the song, but if you’ve ever heard this song live (or on an award show like I did) the harmonies during the word “ever”. It’s amazing! It really shows the guys ability to song, and harmonize. It really shows off their talents.

Overall, I loved this song, although not my favorite on the album. It was an important stepping stone to show that they don’t want to be and are NOT like other boy bands. There’s something different about them. And this song was a nice segue into the rest of the album.

One thought on “My Best Song Ever Review

  1. Pingback: Story Of My Life Song Review | This Is Not A LifeTime Movie

Leave a Reply

