“Thank God Almighty, we are free at last!”

Happy MLK Day! 

MLK Day brings days off of school for students, while others go back into work. I know that I don’t have class today, and have spent the better part of my day sitting on the floor of my living room (much like I’m doing now) with textbooks, papers, writing implements, my laptop, iPad. You name it..it’s probably sitting on the table or floor next to me. I know I’ve only been back for a week, but all of my assignments happen at the exact same time (as in week), therefore I spend my evenings and days trying to accomplish tasks. I make lists, and cross things off. It’s such a great feeling of satisfaction. 

But what is MLK Day? This is such an amazing turning point in history. Martin Luther King Jr. spoke up because he wasn’t afraid. He had confidence in himself. He made a statement. Which is something I think everyone can learn from. In today’s society, so many people are not confident in who they are. MLK had a dream

I will never forget learning about MLK Jr. and what he did for civil rights. To me, it’s baffling that this speech was even needed. We look back and can’t believe that this is how people were treated. His speech is amazing. If you haven’t watched or listened to it, I strongly urged you to do so. 

Freedom is something that seems to have to be earned. However, we are a country that advertises itself as free.

What is freedom? Well I’ll leave that up to your own interpretation.

 

3 thoughts on ““Thank God Almighty, we are free at last!”

  1. Pingback: Cryptoquote Spoiler – 01/20/14 | Unclerave's Wordy Weblog

Leave a comment