Castles and Foundations

I love calendars. I’m not entirely sure why, but it’s something I’ve always loved. I see them in the store, I have to go look at them. (This includes planners and calendars I can use online…have I mentioned my Google calendar is synced to every device I own?!) Over winter break, my mom said something about a calendar. My first thought was “Yes!! I need a new one!” She handed it over. And it’s different than any other calendar I’ve ever had. Why?!? Because each month has a quote, and gives you, as an individual, something to think about. It gives you something to make your life better. Besides, who doesn’t love a good quote?!

I digress. Here’s the quote that was placed with January.

“If you have built castles in the the air, that is where they should be. Now put the foundations under them.” – Henry David Thoreau

These castles are dreams. Everyone has a dream or an end goal that they want to achieve in their life. The foundation is the building and working towards your dream. Let’s say you want to become a doctor, you have to go to school and learn the skills that are necessary for a doctor.

Never ever give up on your dream! Just because something isn’t going the way you want it to (in regards to your dream) doesn’t mean that you have to give up completely. Sometimes you just have to take a little detour, and make a repair to the foundation of your castle.

What’s your castle?

Leave a Reply

