TNT

No, not explosives. TNT as in Team in Training through the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society.

For me, this was an accidental find. Since graduating college, I haven’t been able to find a non-profit or community group I connected with to do some volunteering. There’s something completely satisfying about putting some time and effort into a cause that is meaningful to you. This week, I decided to hit up Google and try and find some events in my area. Instead, I stumbled across Team in Training.

So what is Team in Training (TNT)? TNT combines training with fundraising. If you decide to participate, you sign up to complete one of the following events – in various locations (depending now what is advertised/available at the time of sign up).

  • Full Marathon
  • Half Marathon
  • Century Ride (100 miles)
  • Hiking
  • Triathlon

Throughout your training season, you will also have to fundraise a minimum amount depending on the event you choose. 75 cents out of every dollar raised will directly benefit the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society. Above all else, these funds benefit research to improve the quality of life for many patients, who otherwise would feel very ill. For some, this research is what saves their lives.

There are other benefits to becoming a part of TNT.

  1. Friends! everyone loves making friends!!!
  2. A sense of purpose – why not do something that’s both good for you and your well-being, while also improving other people’s lives.
  3. You get a coach (or 2 or 3 depending on your event)! Your coach will work with you to help you train for your event. They’re all people who have done TNT before, and have competed in the event they’re coaching. They have such great advice when it comes to training, event, gear, etc.
  4. All accommodations, including event registration, is taken care of through your minimum amount in fundraising.

This past week, I joined TNT for my local chapter! My event = a half marathon at the beginning of May. If you’ve ever read my Fitness Funday Sunday post, you will know that I’m not really a huge fan of exercise. But to top it all off, I don’t feel like I’m a good runner, nor do I particularly enjoy it. However, I’m hoping that’s going to change throughout my training.

Today was actually the very first day of training. Saturdays = group runs! We met at a trail (and I was late – surprise surprise – although I’d never been there before, and I kind of got lost – so it makes sense). Before even beginning our run, we were all just standing in a circle talking. We introduced ourselves and explained our connection to the cause, why we joined, and maybe even how we found TNT. By the time we got to where the run started, I was nervous. Like I said, I’m not great at running, and I’m horribly out of shape.

Today’s run was 3 miles. It was rough. But the first run is the first step in my training. One of the coaches was absolutely amazing! Even though he is a much faster and more seasoned runner than myself, he kept pace with me the whole time. We talked, he shared a lot of tips and advice when it comes to running. Looks like I need to go buy some running shoes…

Other than the coach keeping pace with me, I was the last person to finish the run. And you know what…I don’t care! I finished! That’s literally all that matters! That 3 mile run was actually 3.5 miles! So this morning, before 9:30, I ran/walked a 5k. And that felt awesome! I know I’ll be sore tomorrow, but I’m really proud of myself for this morning and my accomplishment. Although I have a long way to go, I can’t wait until 3 miles doesn’t feel like a lot of work.

Leave a Reply

